It Takes a Village

Standard

It’s not that I forget that I have a blog. It’s that we are impossibly busy these days and I just run out of time sometimes. And I guess, at the end of the day, sometimes I think I’d rather only write about things that are hugely important and not simply prattle on about our lives that look so similar to everyone else’s lives. 

 

A facebook friend of mine posted this article today. It was posted by either the mother or father of three adopted boys. (They share a facebook account, so I don’t know whether it was the mom or dad that posted it. I’m not really sure it matters.) Go ahead and read it. I’ll be here when you come back. 

I work at a large, inner-city hospital, so sadly, not much horrifies me anymore. That being said, this does. The fact that this is going on in our Bible belt towns is appalling. The fact that the good Christians of the world are spending more time freaking out about Candy Crush levels and gun rights and for the love not letting the gays marry is ridiculous. (And before you tell me that people don’t have a problem with Candy Crush, let me just go ahead and remind you that “out of the overflow of the heart, the mouth speaks.”) I read a lot of memes from Christians about the breakdown of the American family and the collapse of our morals and, honestly, more than anything about how we’re not sticking to the constitution of the United States of America. Well, in this short post, I’m going to go ahead and tell you what’s wrong with America.

We’ve forgotten to care about the people we come into contact with everyday. We’ve been so concerned with only ourselves for so long that we are not even bothering to care for our children anymore. Hillary Clinton may have written the book, but the concept was true long before her date of publication. It takes a village. And it takes a village that isn’t busy posting facebook memes decrying large groups of people and their so-called stupidity. It takes going a little bit out of your way to make sure our children are cared for. Nevermind our guns and the gays and race issues. We’re not even bothering to properly care for defenseless children anymore. We just simply cannot be bothered. I’m appalled. And angry. And it’s because memes are easier than babysitting for that single mom that you know. And it’s simply easier to assume that middle-aged man working at McDonald’s is just a loser who couldn’t get a college degree and now has to wait on you. It’s because we’re lazy and unwilling to have relationship with people because stereotypes in the form of unflattering pictures posted on facebook to our sycophants are much easier to do and allow us to feel like we might be exacting change in some form or fashion. Stop it, church! Start caring for children. Stop worrying about the fact that abortion is currently legal and the fact that your guns might be taken away and that gays might be allowed to marry and start working to exact legal changes and heart changes that protect our kids. Instead of petitioning your representatives about guns, ask them what they intend to do about these obvious child trafficking laws. Ask them what they intend to do to help us protect our children. They are, after all, our most valuable asset. 

 

*Yeah. I come across as angry in this post. It is because I am. And yes, you can feel free to ask me what I’m doing about adoption and caring for children. I’m happy to share. 

Leave a Reply

