Couch to 5K Update

Standard

This is a little sad. I did one day of week one. And had actual joint pain. I think. It was by and large only when I was actually running, so I may be able to suck it up and ignore it. I was also extremely sore. It seemed a little incongruous to match up that level of soreness and pain with the fact that I’ve been spending 35 minutes on the elliptical 4-5 mornings a week for two months. Perhaps I can’t run? Perhaps I’m a weenie? Perhaps I’m taking suggestions? (For those of you at home plotting advice, know that from a cardiovascular standpoint the intensity was not particularly more than when I’m on the elliptical. I go really fast on the elliptical.)

Seriously though, I’d love love love to complete the program and be an actual runner. In the meantime, I’m going to continue going to the gym, and doing things that don’t hurt me. Sore is one thing. I think I had some actual pain though. And since I can’t repeat it by doing anything other than running, it would seem to me that the obvious solution is stop running and do something else that doesn’t hurt it. That is all.

One response »

  1. If your joint actually has pain, lay off it until it feels better. Muscle soreness is pretty normal. Even going from running to walking as I just have, I have been incredibly sore. You’re just working new muscles. My advice would be to take it as slow as you want, and not push through actual pain, but maybe give it more of a shot. Taking advil before you run can preempt some of the soreness.

    BUT all that to say that running is tough on the body. I have been on again off again my whole life because of various injuries. You’re definitely not a weenie if you decide other workouts are your preference!

Leave a Reply

