Couch to 5K

Standard

I’m a little behind. I feel like everyone I know has done this program, can easily run 5K, and I’m still kicking it on the elliptical. I’m kind of over that, and I haven’t been so hot at showing up to the gym to use the elliptical anyway, so I’ve decided to kick off my Couch to 5K journey today. If I were really in the business of being transparent, I’d post my starting weight and measurements on the ‘ol blog, but I just can’t bring myself to do that. Instead, suffice it to say that I’m not exactly skinny and the rubbing of my thighs might set-off a fire in the Tech Intramural Center this afternoon.

I’m going to go at it on a treadmill. I know that running outdoors is better, but I live in Louisiana and even in May it’s already well over 90 when I get off work. And I realize that getting up and doing it in the mornings would be cooler, but I think we all know that just isn’t going to happen. I am, however, going to do the distance version rather than the time version. I’d hate to get to the end of the program, find out that I’d run 30 minutes and only be at 1.75 miles or something.

And I’m going to keep you all posted. Aside from a two week period of time where I fell completely off the wagon, I’ve been careful with my eating, and therefore have been losing weight slowly but surely, but it’s time to change up my work-out and step things up a bit. And it’s time to make up for the period of time I fell off the wagon.

 

And don’t worry: the post after this is going to contain some words about my new favorite recipe. It has cheese. And honey.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. I did that this year! My advice, from someone who has always gotten hurt while running (but not this time!) is to take it slow. If it’s too hard, just run a little slower. Also, give yourself at least one day between runs. Don’t feel bad if you need more than that. Take it! It’ll make your life better, especially if you feel like you’re on the verge of a strain.

    And ya know what? I never ran a full 5k. But I did run half an hour straight, and I’m darn happy with that! Enjoy!

    • I think since I’ve been spending 4-5 mornings a week on the elliptical trainer I’ll be OK initially. And then I’ll hit week three and think I’m going to die. But since I’ve never gotten past week 2, I figure getting to week three would be a huge accomplishment.

      I do worry about my ability to repeat weeks. Sometimes I get disappointed in myself and then I can’t make myself redo things. It’s stupid because then I don’t accomplish them at all.

Leave a Reply

