Stephen, Chris, Mike, and Jordan

Standard

Oh yeah, and Marc Broussard was there too.

About a month or so ago, my husband mentioned wanting to go to a concert at a local bar here in Ruston. It’s a bar we enjoy: they have lots on tap, their prices are reasonable, and it’s clean. I kind of ignored that until I realized that it was February 14th and that all my plans for his Valentine’s Day gift had fallen through. So I bought tickets, encouraged one of his best friends to go with us, and then looked forward to the trip.

Friday the 17th rolled around. Chris had agreed to go with us, some other friends of ours were going to be driving in from Shreveport, and so we decided to grill out, make brownies, and then head to the show.

The opening act left a lot to be desired, so we hung out in the back, drank beer, talked to people we haven’t had the opportunity to see in a while, and just generally had a good time.

And then Marc Broussard took the stage. I’ll be honest, I didn’t realize he was super famous until I bought the tickets and subsequently did research about the man. Turns out, he’s both famous and great in concert. While the sound system at 3Docs leaves something to be desired, Marc and his band were extremely talented, and the show was a simple, not over-crowded performance. I’m so not a concert person, but I loved it. And Stephen loved it. And as a bonus, we got to meet Marc Broussard!

After the show, we went back to our house for brownies. There was gossip and fun and a later night than I’ve had in a really long time. So, Stephen, let’s go to more concerts, but only if they’re really good and there are brownies, K?

Leave a Reply

