Resolutions?

Standard

I don’t generally make resolutions. I’m not so much of a “make big changes all at once kind of girl.” I’m more of an attempt a small change, fail at said small change a million times, and finally get there” kind of girl. However, this year, I decided to make some. They’re not earth shattering. I don’t even know that individually they could be considered life-changing. However, I have to start somewhere, so I think it’s time to start.

1. I’d like to get some sort of exercise every day. As I currently get none, any will be an improvement. This will often involve taking advantage of my gym membership. This will involve walking around our neighborhood or at the track or the park with Stephen. It will involve playing with small children at church or when babysitting. It’ll just be anything that’s not sitting. So, if you have any suggestions, I’d love to hear them. I don’t mind the gym, but I don’t live for it either.

2. I’d like to spend some time in the Word every day. I’m not brave enough to mention that I’m starting off on some grandiose study or gigantic chunk of my day. I’m not there yet. I love Jesus, but I struggle with daily devotions and Bible study. So I’m going to start where I am. That’s all I can do, right?

3. I’d like to have all of my debt in collections paid off by the end of the year. I’m not totally sure this is a possibility. I’ve not totally done the math on this. But it’s definitely something I’d like to not have hanging over our heads anymore. It’ll make me feel much better about tackling the debt that isn’t in collections with even more vim and vigor.

4. I’d like to do better with my eating choices. Fairly often I cook healthy meals. I generally get them from healthy places. And then I eat too much of them. Or when I have a no-cooking night, it’s not healthy eating out food or healthy snacking. It’s hot n ready pizza or Wendy’s or Cane’s. I’m not proud of this, but it’s true. I’d like to be healthy before we start thinking about getting pregnant so that’s it’s less of a struggle for me then and when I have small children roaming about my house.

Four is more than enough for me. Like I said, I’m not exactly queen of the big change. I’d just like to become more devoted to being more healthy in all aspects. I’m hopeful that these are good starts. Please ask me about them. Oh, and if we’re friends in real life, please feel free to make me put down the second helping of whatever. Or ask me to go play tennis or go walking or something. Or ask me what I’m reading. Just ask. It’s helpful, even when I look irritate with the question, I promise that at some point I’ll be thankful for it.

What about you? Any resolutions you’d like to share?

Leave a Reply

