Woefully Behind

Standard

I should’ve used Facebook/Twitter to do my Thankful posts. Instead, I’m terribly behind and shall have to catch up. I’ll also have to catch everyone up on what has happened to us in the past nearly two weeks.

8. I was thankful for my husband’s job. I miss him a lot as he’s out of town a lot, but it’s a good job and it has some excellent benefits.
9. Thankful that Rickey, my favorite maintenance man, brings us breakfast on Wednesdays.
10. I was thankful that they started laying the new floors in my office, that moving offices went smoothly, and that Denise brought us all Frosties.
11. Thankful that my husband got to start his new, swanky, part-time job with the blessing of his current employers.
12. Thankful for fun in Oxford and a big Tech Bulldogs win.
13. Thankful for safe travel home, Nutella cheesecake, and clean laundry.
14. Thankful, impossibly thankful, that my car, Hedwig, was so safe.
15. Thankful that Stephen’s car didn’t break down until I got to work and that there were rocket scientists there to look at it when it did break.
16. Thankful for an easy day at work, for a fun project (I’m redoing some chairs), and for Lori Lynch, who loaned me her car when both of ours were broken.
17. This is harder. But today I am thankful that a totaled car in an at-fault accident is not devastating to us. That we have jobs, and a bit (albeit very small) of money, and that in a few months this will all be OK.

I can absolutely confess that despite my blessings, and there are many, this thankfulness thing has been hard, especially this week. Monday I was in a serious car accident where the police officer was dismissive; Tuesday the brakes went out in Stephen’s car, and today I found out the accident has been ruled my fault. It wasn’t, but you get what you get and you don’t throw a fit, right? Or maybe you throw a small fit at your house where no one can see you. Or only your husband, cat, and potentially intern can see you.

Honestly, sometimes being thankful is hard. This week was a good reminder that in all things, God is good. He works for good. And that our jobs are to glorify him, not to wait around while he provides ways to glorify ourselves. I needed the reminder. And I need to be less hard-headed. I’d prefer for the next reminder to come somewhat more gently than a Ford Edge barreling into my beloved Saturn Aura.

2 responses »

  1. I am so sorry you had a rough week, but admire that you were still able to be grateful for the blessings you do have. I struggle with that too sometimes. I read this quote today on a blog that made me think some of my “dissapointments” and hard days were really blessings I just didn’t realize…ie, a breakup being protection, losing a job opening the door to a better one, etc. Thought I would share with you. Hope your christmas season is going well!

    “Let us not dictate to God. Many a blessing has been lost by Christians not believing it to be a blessing, because it did not come in the particular shape which they had conceived to be proper and right. To some the divine work is nothing, unless it assumes the form which their prejudice has selected.”

    Jeremiah Lanphier, Alone With Jesus (London, 1872), page 88.

    • I’m terribly behind. I loved, loved, loved that quote. I’m thinking of finding a way to keep it permanently before me. I’m so terrible about wanting my blessings on my terms. I forget so often that I am a created thing and that my life is to glorify God. His blessings come on his perfect terms. How quickly I forget.

Leave a Reply

