The Month of Thanksgiving

Standard

I think that we’ll pretend today is not November 4th, and that I’m not hugely behind. I’ll catch up.

1. My job. Ya’ll, the economy sucks. I’m not employed in my field, but I’m employed. I generally like my coworkers. My boss is kind of awesome. I’ve never had to hunt for a job in Louisiana. This is huge.

2. My small group at church. As in, my small group at my church in Ruston. I’m quite certain I thought I’d never get to this point. But I have and I like them. I like their candor, and their fellowship, and that they’re at similar stages of life as mine and Stephen’s.

3. Flowers from my husband. The 3rd of November is my birthday. The husband brought me flowers and Little Caesar’s Hot ‘n Ready Pizza and Crazy Bread with garlic butter dipping sauce. Yes, that’s not a health food. But he made dinner and I didn’t have to and there was wine and he was finally home from work.

4. My husband. I think when you get married as old as I did, you start to wonder if it’s ever going to happen. And you date these guys that seem great and then you don’t marry them. And then, you meet a guy and he’s fabulous and he’s exactly everything you could’ve wanted and everything you could’ve needed and you understand why it took so long. (Writing that reminded me of a post idea I have. Don’t let me forget to write to ya’ll (my imaginary readers) about singleness. I have many thoughts about it.)

The other advantage to this month is that if I’m really going to keep up with being thankful every day, I have to write every day. Perhaps at the end of 21 days, it’ll be a habit.

Public Service: I’m linking up with Kelly’s Korner today. Her Show Us Your Life today is for non-mom blogs. I’d love more blogs to read, and I’d love more readers, so it’s like everyone wins!

Also, I’d like to take this time to say, “GO HOGS!!!”

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I see that you got married later than you intended. At what age? I would LOVE to hear more. I always find it encouraging to see God’s faithfulness to those who wait.

    I do write a lot about singleness…I finally got to the point where I felt I should be honest about it- good and bad. A lot of what I write about (waiting, dissapointment, etc) is applicable to everyone so I hope its encouraging to all. I look forward to reading your blog!

  2. I’m so glad you came to visit. I love readers and commenters.

    I actually wasn’t terribly old when I married; I was 27. But after a lot of serious relationships, of knowing that getting married was what I wanted more than anything, and after being a bridesmaid 7 times, I felt old. And it doesn’t help to hear older relatives talk about how “you’d better start trying to get pregnant right away if you ever want to have kids. You’re getting up in years.”

    I hope you’re honest. I think the world, and the church, could definitely use some more honesty about singleness. I felt extremely alone when I was single, cause the church doesn’t know what to do with you, and the world is so often set up for pairs. Anyway, I’ll try to avoid blogging in the comments section. I’m so glad you stopped by.

  3. Ha thanks. i know what you mean. I’ve had so many relationships and no mariages, hopefully the right man soon 🙂 I am currently 27 and it seems old sometimes because I live in the south, but its the average age of marriage and so many people my age arent married, so I think our generation is just a little later than our parents!

    I definitely am trying to be honest with my blog…I am not ashamed I am single, glad I am single if it means I didnt settle, so I would love for some people to be honest about singleness, the good and the bad. Why waste these years? If waiting is to teach me something, then I want to learn. Have a great weekend, sounds like we have a lot in common, cant wait to keep reading your blog!!

Leave a Reply

