Whereupon I Sound Like Michael Jackson

Standard

I’m 27 and I’ve been married for two months. Most everyone who reads this blog knows both of those things. The fact of the matter is though, I’m a lot more than a 27-year-old newlywed. I’m an administrative assistant, and a cat parent, and a friend, and a neighbor, and a daughter, and a sister, and a housekeeper, and a commuter.

And I’m some less easily identifiable things too. I’m a Christian. I’m a searcher. I’m flawed.

But you know, I get asked how married life is. Period. The end. And while I appreciate that people take an interest in my life, I’d love for people to take an interest in more than just my fledgling marriage. Don’t get me wrong. I’m more in love with Stephen now than I was when I agreed to be his wife, and than I was when I vowed my life to him. But I’m more than that. I need to be less of a category and more of a person in all aspects of my life. I think we all need to be less of an “empty nester” or a “single person” or a “young professional” or a “sojourner.” I think we all need to get to be our whole selves. I’m not an advocate for complete transparency with every single person we meet, mind you, but I need to get to be more.

Friday evening, Stephen and I are going to another couple’s house, where the four of us and one more couple will eat dinner and play games and hang out. My goal is to invest myself in the lives of those people. To know them as more than their marital status, and maybe, in turn, have myself be lucky enough to get to know me as more than my marital status. Because really, if I want to see change in our churches and change in the way things are done, I have to start with the (wo)Man in the Mirror.

Man in the mirror

I have no idea who that man is. I found it on Flickr. I just felt like this post need a picture of a man in the mirror.

 

 

Image source.

Leave a Reply

