We, not me

Standard

In the past ten days, I’ve had three wedding showers (parties.) For this I am inordinately thankful. We were blessed to have so many people help us celebrate our upcoming marriage, and also blessed to receive so many things that we needed and wanted to help make the transition a lot easier on our checking accounts. In addition to that, there was good food and lots of fun to be had at these showers.

 

After these first three showers, (there’s a fourth shower coming, but despite the fact that I’ll be the guest of honor at it, the gifts are all for Stephen) I’m learning something that’s becoming a bit harder to swallow than I previously thought it would be. See, when you are blessed with men and women who wish to honor your forthcoming nuptials, you are subsequently tasked with the writing of thank you notes. As any bride or college or high school graduate or new mother knows, it is sometimes exhausting to churn out these notes in a timely manner. More importantly, as a bride, it suddenly becomes my responsibility to speak for the pair of us. I’ve been a single adult. I’ve decided where to go, what to spend, how to dress, what to eat, what to do with my time, and countless other things for my entire adult life. Now, it becomes my responsibility, and privilege, to get to speak for Stephen too. Suddenly, I’m tasked with “we” and not “me.” Suddenly, I get to know the joy of having someone else help make decisions, someone else help take out the garbage, and someone else to have an opinion about things. On the flip side, I’m also forced to be more careful about my speech, as it reflects on him now. See, even if I say “me,” it’s still “we.” It’ll be “we” forever.

 

This reflective quality that my speech now has is giving me more insight into how God uses marriage to mirror the relationship between Christ and the church. See, as long as I’ve claimed Christ, my speech and actions have reflected on Him too. However, until spending some time writing “we…” on a pile of thank you notes, I haven’t even begun to grasp just how responsible we are for giving the world an adequate picture of Christianity. I fail at this task daily. My apologies for my hypocrisy, for my cohorts hypocrisy. That being said, let’s all go forth, do better, and make even more effort to be properly reflective of the “surpassing grace that God has given you.”

 

2 responses »

  1. We don’t have to decide too much together. He’s pretty happy to eat what I cook, so long as he doesn’t have to cook it. And I’m pretty happy to not let him cook, because he’s terrible at it.

Leave a Reply

