Standard

This picture sourced from Darwin Bell's flickr stream.

I haven’t written a lot about my faith in recent days. This is largely due to the remarkable lack of discipline I have had lately. My prayer life has suffered; my devotion to daily reading and study has waned; my morning devotional time is nonexistent these days.

Then Sunday came this week. At Crosswalk Family of God, the congregation I attend in Little Rock, we had a service about remembering. A service about ebenezers, defined by scripture in I Samuel 7:12 as a “stone of help.” The sermon was brief and was followed by the testimony of some of the congregants. We were given the opportunity to hear stories about each others tangible reminders of faith and commitment to our Father. More than that, I was given the opportunity to be reminded of my faith, of the beautiful simplicity of the gospel.

 

 

4 Surely he took up our pain
and bore our suffering,
yet we considered him punished by God,
stricken by him, and afflicted.
5 But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was on him,
and by his wounds we are healed.
6 We all, like sheep, have gone astray,
each of us has turned to our own way;
and the LORD has laid on him
the iniquity of us all.

….For he bore the sin of many,
and made intercession for the transgressors.

 

Leave a Reply

