I believe in Pot Roast

Standard

I love to cook. I’m not the world’s greatest cook, or the world’s fanciest cook, but I do love food and I do love to share food, so I do both. Today we have Pot Roast. Pot Roast is a food that is either terrible or wonderful and it all depends on a couple of things. The first thing is making sure to cook it low and slow. This is easily accomplished with the modern invention of the Crock Pot. And now that I have mentioned the Crock Pot, I feel compelled to tell you to get one. Seriously, get one. The bare bones model is perfectly sufficient and will vastly expand your hands-off time in the kitchen. The other thing is liquid. Plenty of liquid make a juicy, tender, falling apart roast that you can be proud to serve to your friends and family. And now we begin.

First, the cast of characters.

After that, the first thing you want to do is get out a giant skillet, dump some olive oil in it, swirl it around, and let it get a little bit hot. While you’re letting it get hot, quarter some onions, and then slice through those quarters. The pieces should be roughly the same size so as to brown and then cook evenly, but don’t have to be remotely pretty. Then, you’re going to want to dump those onions into your hot oil and stir around for a bit, just till they start to brown. Here’s a picture.

The next thing you want to do is take some carrots and chop them into equal sized pieces. Or, if you’re like me, reach into the freezer and procure some frozen crinkle cut carrots. Add a little more oil to the pan, dump in the carrots and swish around till they start to brown. Just a few minutes.

After all that, add a little more oil, and then unpackage your roast. You’re going to want to brown this guy on all sides, and I generally like to do the ends too, just to help sear in those delicious juices. Before browning, it’s important to salt the roast. Don’t be shy here. Rub on the salt. Seriously.

After that’s done, place the roast, carrots, and onions into the Crock Pot (YAY CROCK POT!!!). Set the temperature to low, and make about 3 cups of beef broth. I used beef bullion cubes and water from my red Copco teakettle. Use whatever beef broth suits your fancy. If you have dry red wine, a splash of that would be awesome; if you don’t have access to either, use water. Just use PLENTY. Fill that Crock Pot up to where the water is covering at least 2/3 of the roast, and preferably more like 3/4. Add some seasoning. I like rosemary, thyme, and garlic. I love garlic. So add some. Fresh is best, but powder will work. I also like black pepper, and if you’re serving a more adventurous crowd, or a crowd that will eat whatever you give them, a little chili powder or even cayenne pepper would be excellent.

Alright, remember at the beginning when I told you that one of the keys was LOW and SLOW? Here comes the slow part: leave the Crock Pot alone for at least 8 hours, but 10 is even better. Then slice and serve. I like to serve it with mashed potatoes, or twice baked potatoes, but that’s just me. You pick your side dish.

I don’t know what we’ll cover next, but I do promise to keep bringing you delicious recipes. Or at least things that won’t kill anyone.

Leave a Reply

