Festivus… For the Rest of Us

Standard

On the long running sitcom Seinfeld, there is a character named George Costanza.  Among the many features of George are a strange relationship with a set of odd parents.  In one episode, we learn that George’s father, Frank Costanza, has invented a holiday which he calls Festivus.  Festivus is apparently for “the rest of us,” whoever those people might be.  There are many features to Festivus, which include, but are not limited to, the Airing of Grievances and Feats of Strength.

I was all set to make a blogpost about my own personal, often lengthy, list of pet peeves.  I have quite a few and most of them are things that of course (except not really) things that I would never dream of doing myself.  I felt as though I was in a perfect position to do it too, as this has been a long week, filled with the making of some difficult decisions, an ear infection that I cannot afford to get treated, some other medical problems that might offend the sensibilities of some and so will not be posted here, several tests in my summer classes, and a whole litany of other things that have made this a difficult week.  However, despite my huge desire to Air Grievances, it doesn’t seem fruitful.  Sure, I could rail on and on about the lack of the use of turn signals, or people who think that it’s totally OK to stop in Wal-Mart, take up the entire aisle and talk and talk to your friend as though the rest of us don’t want to actually do our grocery shopping.  And, as is apparent, I cannot resist doing that just a little.

But it’s not prudent.  More than not prudent, it’s not righteous.  And along the same lines as not righteous, it’s not beneficial.  In Phillipians 4, the apostle Paul writes of speaking only of those things that are “true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent or praiseworthy.”  There’s significant merit to this.  Yes, there are things that are more than pet peeves in my life.  Yes, there are things that are simply annoyances, but seemingly ever present annoyances.  I’m learning (and if you know me in real life you know that this is a painfully slow process) that it doesn’t help to air your grievances.  Talk about your problems with a close friend?  Absolutely.  Whine about slow drivers and late professors?  Not helpful.

No post of mine would be complete without some science.  According to the Mayo Clinic, having a positive outlook has such fantastic health benefits as longer life span, decreased increase of cardiovascular disease and greater resistance to the common cold.  Read article here http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/positive-thinking/SR00009

Because of these benefits, I believe that I’m done with the airing of grievances, to the best of my ability, at least.

One response »

  1. I just wanted to say hi! I read MckMama’s Many Small Children blog and saw where you commented that you live in Maumelle. I do too, and I thought “what a small world”.

Leave a Reply

