Exhaustion

Standard

I’m tired of vitriol.  I’m tired of rudeness.  I’m tired of disrespect.  I’m tired of hatred.  From now on, I’m going to do my absolute best to not speak ill of anyone on my blog.  I’m also going to work extremely hard to do that in real life too, but I suspect that will be much more difficult.  Life is hard enough.  The world does not need even my little weblog to add to the negativity that we all come in contact with every day.  Yes, there will still be posts about politics; there will still be posts about religion, about faith, about spirituality, and about daily life, but I’m going to work hard to pull out the positives, only post the negatives if it is absolutely necessary and not about a specific person, and work very very hard to learn something positive from everything.

5 responses »

  1. You know, I am a very positive and optimistic person. I use my blog to vent. I would rather vent on there, anoymously, then complain to people at work/school/church.

    Good post!

  2. There’s venting, and then there’s naming specific people, and not public figures, specific regular old people. I’m not sure that the latter lies entirely in the realm of venting but perhaps encroaches on the category of speaking ill of others and gossip and inappropriate talk. Of course, it’s your blog; you may obviously do as wish, but hiding under the cloak of anonymity doesn’t make the actions any less than exactly what they are. I’ve been guilty of it in the past myself, but I’ve realized that it is completely out of place and wrong for a Christian to do. So I’m not doing it any more.

  3. I try not to get personal. I try to stick to issues. Pointing out how someone is wrong on, say, global warming or gun control or the like is on policy matters and is not personal.

    At least that’s what I believe.

    Of course, the main stream media and Liberals see it differently. A Liberal rips into the GOP and the media calls it a “discussion”. The GOP quote a democrat on something they said and point out how it is wrong and they call it an “attack”.

  4. When you start naming people, it gets personal. Again, you may do what you wish on your blog, because that is between those people and God and you, but I do ask that you keep it off my blog. Whatever you want to call it, I don’t like the practice. And don’t hide behind the guise of liberal and GOP politics. Everyone does it, it just shows up differently. Also, in my estimation, it’s better to own your statements then hide in a shroud of anonymity. I might be wrong about things and I might be inappropriate occasionally, but I am willing to own my opinions. Again, your blog, your rules. My blog, my rules. Let’s say no more about this, at least not here. That’s one of my rules.

  5. Oh yeah, I welcome your thought and opinions, but not at the expense of anyone. I’m glad you’ve found my blog as I love a good argument, but I don’t like to talk about people. Actually, I do like to talk about people, but I want to be like Jesus, and that makes it not ok to do.

Leave a Reply

