Farmer’s Market

Standard

This morning I went to the Arkansas Farmer’s Market in Little Rock for the first time as an adult.  I’ve thought about going several times, but have failed to do so for several reasons, not the least of which being that it costs a little more to shop there.  I purchased strawberries, tomatoes, squash, zucchini, avocados, and a lime for a grand total of $11.  I don’t know exactly what those same things would have cost at Walmart, but I found the whole experience much more pleasant.  The foods I bought were those things that are in season and they also allowed me to support small business instead of giant corporations such as Wal-Mart.  All three vendors I used were polite and forthcoming about their produce, helped me make selections, and were generally pleasant to patronize.  I don’t know if all Farmers’ Markets are like this, but todays experience was delightful, as I’m sure the food I make with these vegetable and fruits will be.  I’m looking forward to going again next week and subsequent weeks.

I’ve always thought that a great many things have become too large, too corporate.  While I whole-heartedly believe in government subsidized health care and such, I’m afraid that shopping has become too corporate and too large.  Somehow I suspect that if we all support the businesses and farmers that are from our communities, we can ultimately do better.  I’m not exactly sure how, but it always seems like a good idea to take care of your own first and then worry about other things.  Of course, I’m sure you could spin that sentiment of mine to apply to the war in Iraq, and if you’d like to, please do.  It’s no secret that I am vehemently opposed to our presence over there.

Leave a Reply

