Growing Up

Standard

Eventually I’m going to have to become a grown up.  I’ve done a fairly adept job at faking for the past two years, what with paying rent and the electric bill and cooking dinner in my own place of dwelling.  However, ultimately, I’m going to have to get a real job, stop being in school and start having no spring break, no summer vacation, no Christmas vacation and start keeping track of vacation days and sick leave and my 401(k).  However, I think I’m ready for that.  Or at least ready to get much closer to that.  I’m tired of working part time at a job where if I don’t go to work, I don’t get paid.  I know that there are things that suck about having a grown up job and a grown up life, but I cannot wait until when I get home from work, I’m done with requirements for the day.  All that’s left to do is cook and clean and read and watch television and sew and knit and such.  I know the days will be long and I’ll have to start paying back my student loans, but I will be largely free from the burden of homework and studying for exams and pulling all-nighters once or twice a week.  I think I’m ready.  Now if I just knew what I wanted to be…

One response »

  1. I thought you knew? KSU is sounding like a great opportunity. Funny, I know what I would like to do (I am doing it) but I am often in conflict over where I would like to be while doing it.

    Oh, this sounds like “Leave it to Beaver:” “All that’s left to do is cook and clean and read and watch television and sew and knit and such.”

Leave a Reply

